Episode 42: The Bradford City stadium fire

Videos:

Articles and books:

Episode 42: The Bradford City stadium fire

One thought on “Episode 42: The Bradford City stadium fire

  1. Mike says:

    Excellent show as always! Sorry to hear about the job issues. I can relate at the moment; but I’ve been listening since the first show and have always loved it; will definitely be throwing some change into the proverbial hat when I get a chance. In the meantime, I’ve been spreading the word to anyone who’ll listen.

    Crowd control faliures, and fires at mass gatherings are of particular interest to me, because I am a frequent patron of such gatherings; and so this along with the Hillsborough episode were very interesting to listen to. I really admire your objective and methodical way of picking apart incidents and making it easy for laymen such as myself to understand.

    I’m a musician by trade, and a frequent, avid concertgoer as well so your episode on the Station fire especially hit very close to home. The infamous video of that fire is perhaps the only video on youtube I’ve come across that I really can’t bear to watch; I’m in clubs and venues not too different from the Station all the time, and that disaster really must’ve been a nightmare come true for those in attendance. I can say the same for the Love Parade episode; more nightmare fuel, but fascinating to research, and I believe important in understanding how these things happen and how we can prevent them… which you often touch on in your commentary… another thing I love, it really puts all the hard fact you present into human context. I too am a person who instinctively scopes out all the exits whenever I enter a space where things could get out of control… my lifelong anxiety issues notwithstanding. Nice to know i’m not alone in doing that.

    You mentioned you had an idea for an episode involving an amusement park accident. I am a pretty hardcore roller coaster enthusiast (yes; that is a thing, and there is a sizeable community of us), and if I could make a suggestion (though I suspect this may be the disaster you are thinking of); check out the Mindbender Roller coaster crash of 1986. This was huge news here in Canada, and contrary to popular (understandable) belief, it is EXCEEDINGLY rare for a roller coaster to actually derail and malfunction to the extent that it did that day.

    Amusement ride accidents in general are rare; so this incident was quite exceptional in many ways, continues to be a source of great interest to coaster buffs; and it involved a famous, very popular ride (considered amongst aficionados to be among the best of it’s kind in the world, myself included) which still operates this day. Might be difficult to research but it’s a really unique incident in general and I think you’d find it quite interesting. Sorry for the wall of text but I’ve been meaning to leave a comment and let you know how much I’ve been enjoying the show for a while now. I really hope it continues to go well for you; and like I said, I’ll be more than happy to continue to support you any way I can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

